WEDI Honors Health IT Industry Leaders at the WEDI National Conference through Annual Awards

Industry champions recognized for contributions to further association and health IT industry initiatives

WEDI (@WEDIonline), the nation’s leading nonprofit authority on the use of health IT to create efficiencies in healthcare information exchange and a trusted advisor to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), announced the winners of its annual awards program. Each award recipient was announced during the WEDI National Conference 2018 in Arlington, Va. on Tuesday, October 16.

“The WEDI Board of Directors is privileged with the opportunity to recognize those individuals and organizations leading the charge in making impactful advances for our health IT industry each year,” said Charles W. Stellar, president and CEO of WEDI. “We had no shortage of incredibly worthy nominees, and we are grateful for each of these individual’s and organization’s dedication, commitment and tireless efforts toward advancing efficiency in healthcare through the use of information technology. Congratulations to all the 2018 award winners, and we thank you for your unwavering support.”

Andrew H. Melczer Leadership in Volunteerism Award – Named in memory of Andrew H. Melczer who exemplified these characteristics through his volunteerism with WEDI, this award recognizes an individual who has provided exemplary service by giving their time to the association and healthcare IT industry activities on a national basis. The late Andy Melczer committed his career to healthcare and devoted his life to helping, teaching and sharing with others. Pam Grosze of PNC Bank is the 2018 recipient of the Melczer Award.

Chair’s Award – This award is presented at the discretion of WEDI’s Chair to an individual who has demonstrated exceptional leadership and commitment to the advancement of specific WEDI initiatives. The 2018 recipients of this award are Jay Eisenstock, WEDI chair-elect and Gail Kocher, Blue Cross Blue Shield Association.

Excellence in Health IT Award – Recognizing an individual or organization’s contribution to the advancement of health information technology and eCommerce technology in healthcare, the 2018 Excellence in Health IT Award recipient is Softheon.

HIT Government Champion Award – This award recognizes exceptional government personnel who have supported policy that advances the health IT industry. This person has also been an active ally of WEDI and has helped build government support on new initiatives. The 2018 HIT Government Champion Award was presented to Monica Kay, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services.

Louis W. Sullivan Award – Named in honor of the former HHS Secretary who was instrumental in the creation of WEDI and initiating the healthcare industry’s ongoing commitment to improving healthcare through the development of standards for administrative simplification, The Honorable Louis W. Sullivan, MD, this award recognizes individuals who have distinguished themselves through their leadership, vision and achievements in advancing the efficiency of healthcare. The 2018 Sullivan Award was presented to Steven Posnack, Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology.

Outstanding Corporate Leadership Award – This award is given to a company that has served as a strong champion of progress in the health IT industry through their continued commitment to WEDI’s sponsorship programs throughout the year. The 2018 awardee is American Dental Association.

Outstanding Leadership Award – This award recognizes Workgroup/Taskforce or Subworkgroup (SWG) Co-Chairs who have consistently contributed toward the growth, success and impact their group has made on the industry. The 2018 recipients of this award include:

  • Alison Armstrong, Anthem BC of California
  • Donna Campbell, Health Care Service Corporation
  • Evelyn Semataska, Aetna
  • Lisa Savicki, Jopari
  • Doreen Espinoza, DE Consulting
  • Chris Muschong, Kunz, Leigh & Associates
  • Rose Hodges, Aetna

Volunteer Service Award – This certificate recognizes a leader on the rise – someone making a real contribution and difference within WEDI. This award recognizes someone who has actively supported the efforts of their workgroup, subworkgroup or taskforce through their commitment, leadership, team play and productivity. The 2018 recipients of this award are Susan Brousseau, BCBS of Minnesota, Mike Denison, Change Healthcare and Michelle Barry, Availity.

Distinguished Service Award – This award recognizes individuals who have provided significant leadership to the fulfillment of the mission, objectives, programs and overall volunteer activities of WEDI through participation in committees, workgroups, PAGs, Board of Directors, among others. The 2018 recipients of this award include:

  • Tom Meyers, America’s Health Insurance Plans
  • Ed Hafner, Change Healthcare
  • Laurie Burckhardt, WPS Insurance
  • Pam Grosze, PNC Bank

Outstanding Corporate Sponsor Award – Recognizes a vendor who has served as a strong champion in health IT through their continued commitment to WEDI’s sponsorship programs throughout the year. The 2018 recipient of this award is Edifecs.

For more information on the 2018 awardees or on the WEDI National Conference, please visit

About WEDI
WEDI is the leading authority on the use of health IT to improve healthcare information exchange in order to enhance the quality of care, improve efficiency, and reduce costs of our nation’s healthcare system. WEDI was formed in 1991 by the Secretary of Health and Human Services (HHS) and was designated in the 1996 HIPAA legislation as an advisor to HHS. WEDI’s membership includes a broad coalition of organizations, including: hospitals, providers, health plans, vendors, government agencies, consumers, not-for-profit organizations, and standards development organizations.