CMS Releases 2014 CQM Table for Reporting

Dissecting Stage 2 of EHR Adoption

Quality health care is a national priority right now. The Department of HHS and its agencies are currently working under many quality health initiatives. Quality measures are tools that “help measure or quantify healthcare processes, outcomes, patient perceptions, and organizational structure and/or systems that are associated with the ability to provide high-quality health care and/or that relate to one or more quality goals for health care. These goals include: effective, safe, efficient, patient-centered, equitable, and timely care.”

In stage 1 of the Medicare CMS EHR Incentive Program, clinical quality measures (CQMs) are required as a core objective for both eligible professionals (EPs) and eligible hospitals. Core objective #10 requires EPs report 3 core or alternative core and 3 additional measures totaling 6 measures. Core objective #9 requires eligible hospitals report 15 measures.

In stage 2 EPs must meet 17 core objectives and 3 of 6 menu objectives. Eligible hospitals must meet 16 core objectives and 3 of 6 menu objectives. And unlike in stage 1 CQMs are no longer considered an objective but will be categories as a reporting requirement on their own. In 2014, all EPs and eligible hospitals will report CQMs using the new 2014 criteria no matter what stage (1 or 2) or program (Medicare or Medicaid) they are attesting. Reporting details are as follows:

  • EPs must report on 9 of the 64 approved CQMs
    • Recommended core CQMs – encouraged but not required
      • 9 CQMs for the adult population
      • 9 CQMs for the pediatric population
      • NQF 0018 strongly encouraged since controlling blood pressure is high priority goal in many national health initiatives, including the Million Hearts campaign
    • Selected CQMs must cover at least 3 of the National Quality Strategy domains
  • Eligible Hospitals and CAHs must report on 16 of the 29 approved CQMs
    • Selected CQMs must cover at least 3 of the National Quality Strategy domains
  • Beginning in 2014, all Medicare-eligible providers beyond their first year of demonstrating meaningful use must electronically report their CQM data to CMS. (Medicaid EPs and hospitals that are eligible only for the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program will electronically report their CQM data to their state.)

CMS has released the “Clinical Quality Measures for 2014 CMS EHR Incentive Programs for Eligible Professionals” document which contains up-to-date information for EPs participating in the program. Measure specifications will probably need updating more frequently than what CMS expects rulemaking cycles will allow so this document’s table will provide necessary updates to the specifications. Updates will be maintained as versions of this table and will be available at least 6 months prior to the beginning of any calendar year the measures will be required. The CQM table for eligible hospitals and CAHs is also available.

2014 CQM Table for EPs

2014 CQM Table for Eligible Hospitals

Read all of the Dissecting Stage 2 posts.