ONC Offers Five Online Training Courses on Interoperability

Online MU Stage 2 Standards Courses

Training modules on new standards implementation for Eligible Professionals (EPs) and Critical Access Hospitals (CAH) are now available from the ONC. The modules were developed to teach you how to implement the new standards included in Stage 2 of the EHR Incentive Programs on transitions of care, lab exchange, patient engagement, and public health measures.

The training courses are online, web based, and self-paced. The five part series provides real-world examples and a story-based approach. The five courses are:

Interoperability Basics Training

This 75 minute interactive course using stories, analogies, and practical examples to highlight new vocabulary, content, transport, and services standards introduced in the Meaningful Use (MU) Stage 2. This course also introduces the concept of interoperability building blocks and utilizes stories to show concepts in practice. The course covers:

  • Defining Interoperability
  • Interoperability Path to Meaningful Use Stage 2
  • Building Blocks of Interoperability
  • The Effect of Interoperability on Categories of Care

Interoperability and Transitions of Care

This course demonstrates how to apply MU Stage 2 interoperability standards for transitions of care and medication, clinical information, reconciliation. The course consists of short lessons with the objectives of:

  • Identify changes between MU Stage 1 and Stage 2 objectives, measures, and requirements as they relate to clinical information reconciliation
  • Identify the ONC 2014 certified electronic health records technology (CEHRT) standards and certification criteria (S&CC) basics to provide the knowledge required to work with certified vendors and support eligible providers (EPs), eligible hospitals (EHs), and critical access hospitals (CAHs) in implementing MU Stage 2 interoperability requirements
  • Identify provider and hospital attestation requirements and how CEHRT supports these requirements
  • Identify specific provider or facility actions that constitute achievement of MU Stage 2 transitions of care and medication reconciliation objectives and measures

Interoperability and Lab Exchange

This course outlines the differences between MU Stage 1 and 2 requirements as well as includes user stories to highlight the benefits and challenges to the new thresholds, standards, and certification criteria. The course includes lessons on:

  • Introduction to Lab Exchange
  • Incorporating Structured Lab Data
  • Lab Results Interface Guide
  • LOINC Codes
  • Sending Lab Results

Interoperability and Patient and Family Engagement

This course outlines the changes between MU Stage 1 and 2 requirements as they relate to patient and family engagement. The course includes how to:

  • Identify the benefits of interoperability to enable patient and family engagement
  • Describe the differences between MU Stage 1 and Stage 2 requirements for patient and family engagement
  • Describe the rationale for the changes between MU Stage 1 and Stage 2 requirements

Interoperability and Public Health

This course provides an overview of steps providers must take to begin the connection and electronic submitting process with their Public Health Agency. The training describes the increased level of effort providers can anticipate and changes in requirements from MU Stage 1 to MU Stage 2. The course identifies requirements, standards, data transport mechanisms and implementation guides for each public health domain – immunization, reportable lab results, syndromic surveillance, centralized cancer registries and other specialized registries.