First Meeting of Advisory Committee Required by MACRA

HHS-ASPEThe U.S. Department of Health and Human Services announces the first meeting of the new Physician-Focused Payment Model Technical Advisory Committee on February 1, 2016. The Committee is required by the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015 (MACRA), and its members were appointed by the Comptroller General. On January 5, 2016, Secretary Burwell signed the Charter of the Committee. The Committee will review proposals for physician-focused payment models submitted by stakeholders based on criteria that the law requires the Secretary to establish through notice and comment rulemaking by November 1, 2016.

The Committee includes 11 members who are nationally recognized for their expertise in physician-focused payment models and related delivery of care. With authority delegated by the Secretary, the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Richard G. Frank, PhD has appointed Jeffrey Bailet, MD, as the Chairperson of the Committee and Elizabeth Mitchell as the Vice Chairperson of the Committee.

Dr. Bailet is an otolaryngologist and President of Aurora Health Care Medical Group in Wisconsin. Ms. Mitchell is President and Chief Executive Officer of the Network for Regional Healthcare Improvement in Maine.

Meeting information can be found by visiting the Federal Register Notice of Public Meeting.

More information on the Committee can be found on this website.